Fun in the Sun

Mavens, I’ve been away for too long! This summer has been a busy one for me but I didn’t want you to think I had forgotten you. Here are some of what I’ve been up to for the last couple of weeks:

Visiting my Parents in Florida – I hadn’t been back to Florida in quite some time so I was very excited to head over there for a week. It was gorgeous! Super hot and balmy. We went to the beach every day and I ate tons of delicious barbeque and west indian food. It felt really great to disconnect from the rest of the world and hang out with family. My mum has an impressive backyard garden which consists of mango trees, banana trees, papaya trees and several other tropical fruit trees. The one plant that still amazes me is this little pineapple tree (bush? plant?) pictured below. Isn’t that the cutest thing?

IMG_0682

Reading – During my relaxing vacation in Florida I got lots of reading done. I’m a huge bookworm but lately I’ve found that I don’t get to read as much as I’d like to. Here are some great books to check out:

1The Eco Chick Guide to Life: How to Be Fabulously Green by Starre Vartan – great book full of fantastic green advice

2. Gorgeously Green by Sophie Uliano – love, love, love this book. It’s become my unofficial rulebook!

3. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates – now that I’ve read the book I can check out the movie. I’m weird like that – must read the book first!

4. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz – I’ve just started this book and so far I am enjoying it. Good, easy read.

Making oodles and oodles of soap – I’ve been quite busy churning out soap. I’m really pleased with how they’re turning out and am super excited to make more. I recently listed 8 new soaps to my Etsy shop. They’re olive oil based and contain other yummy ingredients like coconut oil and shea butter. Below is a picture of my fave of the bunch – it’s Kumquat scented which is such a fresh, tropical scent. Check them out – I think you’ll like them as much as I do!

IMG_0690

Habitat for Humanity – I’ve always wanted to do Habitat for Humanity which is a charity that builds affordable houses for low income individuals. I finally got my chance last weekend. Me and two of my friends worked really hard all day putting up wood siding. It felt fantastic doing something that I knew would directly benefit someone in need. I would definitely do it again. If you’re looking for a way to give back I would suggest looking into Habitat for Humanity for sure.

So before heading out to my Habitat for Humanity build site I tried Burt’s Bees Natural Sunscreen. I hate to say it because I loooove Burt’s Bees but I did not like this sunscreen. I had to take it right back to the store. It didn’t rub in very well and left my skin completely white. To make matters worse, it smelled funny. I was quite disappointed. 

Whew! It’s been a whirlwind summer so far but I’m having a blast. I should be back to posting more regularly now.

What have you been up to this summer? Do  share!

N-

Oh! Before I forget. I’m having a sale on my Etsy shop for this weekend. 20% off your entire order for this weekend only! Happy Shopping!

I’ve also recently been featured on some blogs: SatinDoll, Everyday Etsy and Ask Ms. Popular. Please take a look. Thanks!

2 responses to “Fun in the Sun

  1. Goodness, I long for vacations.

    Next time you do HFH, count me in!

  2. mum’s pineapple tree looks great!

Leave a Reply

