Italian Vogue- The Black Issue

So I FINALLY got my hands on a copy of the new Italian Vogue: The Black Issue! As many of you know, this limited edition, history making issue of Vogue has been in high demand and completely sold out at most book stores and magazine stands. The collector’s edition will feature all black models as well as the majority of the advertising. Four different covers are available featuring Naomi Campbell, Sessilee Lopez, Jourdan Dunn and Liya Kebede. When asked why she was making an all black Vogue, Franca Sozzoni -the editor of Vogue Italia- stated: “Because nobody is using black girls. I see so many beautiful girls and they were complaining that they are not used enough.” When asked what if the issue fails because not enough Italians buy it, she replied, “Maybe in our country it is not the best idea. But I don’t care. I think it is not my problem if they don’t like it – it’s their problem.” The pictures were shot by Steven Meisel, one of Vogue’s top photographers (He did Madonna’s “Sex” book back in ’92) who did an outstanding job. Here’s a quick rundown of some of the other models in the magazine:

  • Chanel Iman
  • Iman
  • Naomi Campbell 
  • Alek Wek
  • Alva Chin
  • Arlenis Sosa Pena
  • Gail O’Neil
  • Karen Alexander
  • Tyra Banks
  • Veronica Webb
  • Yasmin Warsame
  • Liya Kebede
  • Jourdan Dunn
  • Sessilee Lopez
  • Toccara Jones
  • Pat Cleveland
  • Tina Turner
I bought the Naomi Campbell cover because let’s face it, cell phone throwing incidents aside, she’s still über fierce. The photos are incredible-very high fashion & very edgy. A couple of my fave spreads are Toccora’s “Champagne Furs,” “How to Dazzle” and “Modern Luxe” which features most of the models. Naomi Campbell was shot in a 20-page spread entitled “There’s Only One Naomi”


Toccara-Jones_0
At $20 a pop, it wasn’t cheap but I think such a historic piece of fashion history is definitely worth having. The pictures were gorgeous, the fashion was superb but I think the message behind the magazine is much more powerful. If you’ve seen the issue, let me know what you think.
Ciao Bella!
n*


5 responses to “Italian Vogue- The Black Issue

  1. can’t wait to receive mine, thanks Nai.!

  2. it’s a bit of a gimmick, but i love how it all turned out

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

  3. I was so excited about this issue but I was a bit disappointed in the advertising. Since everyone has been presenting it as the “Black Issue” I was surprised to see so many non-black faces through the first dozen plus pages. That’s not to say that I don’t appreciate the attempt to highlight the beauty that is Black (the photos are fabulous) it was just a little shocking to see the lack of ads with Black faces. Also, I desperatly need a translator. Some of the articles look so good but I can’t read a lick of it.

  4. I think that the lack of black faces in the advertising further illustrates the point that advertisers and designers are just not using black models proportionately. It’s incredibly rare to find a black model in a high fashion (not Baby Phat or Roca Wear) advertisement. Hopefully, more magazines and designers will begin to feature black models. Baby steps, right?

    N-

  5. I love my issue, I can’t stop reading it. The articles were amazine. I loved the article on Ebony and Linda Johnson Rice. Although some ads featured black models, I was disappointed too, but that goes back to the designers and the ad campaigns.

    My favorite spread was “Black on Black” with Liya(my fav) and Jourdan . very strking images.

    I absolutely loved tocarra’s spread. She looked so hot and sexy, yet powerful.

Leave a Reply

