Beauty Maven of the Week – Nicole Blades

Nicole Blades is part entrepreneur, part journalist and a 100% natural beauty. Plus she’s my big sis! Check out the interview below to find out her beauty secrets and learn what’s next for this exceptional journalist.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beauty Maven : What’s your daily beauty routine?

Nicole Blades: My daily beauty routine is pretty simple. I wash my face with Cetaphil® Daily Facial Cleanser For Normal to Oily Skin. I skip toners. Then I moisturize, always. If it’s a workday, I use Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer. It’s light, oil Free and has spf 20. If it’s an off day, I go with Cetaphil’s Daily Facial Moisturizer SPF 15. As for makeup, I keep it light, especially in the summer. I use Prescriptives’ brow pencil to fill in some areas and “False Eyelashes” mascara—which I highly recommend. I might use a pink blush that I like from Bobbi Brown or a bronzer from Elizabeth Arden (Yvette turned me on to this one.). On my lips, it’s usually gloss. I’ve been using lots of MAC this summer…lipgelée and lusterglass.

BM: What’s the one beauty item you could not live without? 

NB: Trying to think about a beauty item I could not live without is tough. Over the years I’ve kind of shed things. For example, way back in the day, I used to think that I couldn’t leave the house without lipstick. Those days are oh-so gone. These days I’m perfectly fine with rocking some lip balm with SPF or a dab of Aquaphor. Also, my eyebrows are pretty thin—the hair is light—so a few tweezer plucks here and there and I’m straight. I used to say, if I do nothing else, I must fill-in my eyebrows before I leave the house. But lately, you can catch me without “my brows on” and it’s I’m still smiling.  I guess the one item that has remained consistent in my routine is moisturizer. I use really good body lotion and facial moisturizer, and use them every day.  

BM: Your hair is gorgeous! What’s your secret to maintaining your locs?

NB: Thank you. I have to thank my parents or the gene pool because I’ve been blessed with super thick hair, and that makes taking care of it easier. (Or maybe I’m just so used to wrestling with my thick hair over the years that it feels easy now!) I don’t do anything special, though. I wash with a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. I can do Pantene Moisture Rich line to Aveda to Netutrogena’s Triple Moisture Deep Conditioner—not really stuck to a brand. On my scalp and to re-twist my locs, I use a homemade mix that I learned from my fantastic hair dresser/master stylist Craig Carter. It’s made up of olive oil, castor oil, and essential oils like lavender and ylang ylang. It’s not heavy on my scalp and doesn’t “rest” in the hair like some loc butters tend to do, and it smells lovely. To get it crimped, I just braid the locs when damp and let it sit for a few days. My hair takes a good long while to dry, though.  

BM: Your novel takes place on the beautiful island of Barbados. Tell us more about the story. 

NB: Earth’s Waters is a coming of age story set in modern-day Barbados. It’s about passion and passivity, essentially. I like to say that it’s the story about a young woman slowly drowning in paradise. I’m really proud of this book, and I hope other people enjoy the story as much as I did telling it.

BM: What’s next for you?

NB: Right now I’m working on my second book. I’m aiming to have it completed by the end of the year. It’s another novel; this time it’s set in Vermont at an all-girls Catholic school. The main character is from Montreal, though, so there are some scenes of her back at home. That’s all I’ll say about that—don’t want to let too much steam out of the pot! 

Thanks for featuring me. Keep up the good work. And as my mother likes to say, stay sweet!

For more information about Nicole and Earth’s Waters, visit www.NicoleBlades.com or check her out in the pages of Women’s Health Magazine where she is one of the senior editors.

n*

5 responses to “Beauty Maven of the Week – Nicole Blades

  1. Great interview! I always like to read about other women’s beauty routines, which are as individual as we are. Nicole is a lovely young lady, and kudos to her on the books! What an achievement! 😉

  2. aaw..your sister is so beautiful! I heard that Cetaphil is great for sensitive skin!!
    Which shade of Laura mercier tinted moisturizer does she use?
    It is in my wishlist?
    Which BBrown pink blush is she referring to…

    her locks are gorgeous and leave me dreamy…..maybe one day i’ll decide to commit….
    great interview 🙂
    I’ll check out the book too

  3. Good interview Nai! Nicole looks beautiful!

  4. Amina, the Bobbi Brown blush is Apricot and the Laura Mercier moisturizer is in Walnut.

    n*

  5. Nicole you look AMAZING

Leave a Reply

