Back to the Basics

These days I’ve been trying to keep my beauty routine very natural and organic. Lets face it, all of the homemade solutions our grandparents made for their ailments are probably what we should be using. I was in Florida visiting my parents recently and mum had some boiled garlic tea in the fridge.  I had a half of a glass every  morning with her and felt so great!  I wasn’t stuffy like I usually am and my skin was looking very clear and bright.  Mum also had pure cocoa directly from the cocoa tree that a friend brought for her from Barbados, you just grate the bark and it gives you the best hot cocoa fill with lots of antioxidants. My skin was just glowing and smooth, and my body felt so healthy and  strong.  Since returning home I haven’t had any Garlic tea and my cocoa bark is sitting in the cupboard but I promise that this weekend I’ll get back on my regimen. Do you have an homemade Beauty routines that you swear by? Let us know!

vettie

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/10/15/unlocking-the-benefits-of-garlic/

http://www.uspharmacist.com/index.asp?show=article&page=8_1210.htm

3 responses to “Back to the Basics

  1. Oh gosh! Thought you’d never ask. I agree about the natural and organic, Vettie!While I do use some Arbonne products as I mentioned a few posts ago, the bulk of my beauty routine is this: I wash my face with raw honey in the shower each morning, and follow up with a combination of jojoba oil and … emu oil. I could wax on about these three little gems for days, but in the interest of space, I’ll just say they are wonderful. A Google search can give you a brief list on the benefits of all of them. I also like to soak in a tub of water with either baking soda (makes skin super soft), or raw apple cider vinegar (once you get used to the smell, it’s not bad, and your skin will luh-ve you for it!). And believe it or not, last November I cut out foods containing high-fructose corn syrup and my skin, which was always pretty nice, got even nicer! True! 😉

  2. thanks for this info Caroline, I’m all over this, I will google to see the benifits and I will be in spa heaven this week-end in the comfort of my own home!!!!

  3. Never underestimate the power of Grannys advice

Leave a Reply

