Lush Product Review – Curly Wurly & Veganese

So as you all know, I’ve been trying to natural up my beauty routine and that goes for my hair too. I’ve also been having some moisture issues with my hair lately and thought it was time for a new shampoo.  I bought Curly Wurly (love the name!!) from Lush which claims to renew moisture and shine to unruly curls:



Coconut and vanilla to tame unruly curls. This thick, rich marvel is so unlike any other shampoo that your hair will think it’s discovered a parallel universe: one where curls soften, relax and shine on command. Amazingly enough, we make it all happen without preservatives. (Helen, LUSH inventor extraordinaire, says she’s rather pleased with that fact.) Coconut, cocoa and avocado butters, along with jojoba oil, control curls, weigh hair down and smooth hair follicles. Shredded coconut aids application and free-range eggs take the place of synthetic polymers, while lemons and papaya cleanse and add shine. Apply lovingly, then rinse out thoroughly (this might take a little extra effort due to all the exquisite natural ingredients). 

I have been using Curly Wurly for about a month now and am pretty pleased with it. It smells great and I can feel the difference in my hair when I rinse it out. I have two complaints. The first is that the shredded coconut bits are really tough to wash out. Especially since I have super thick, kinky hair. After I get out of the shower I have to spend an extra couple of minutes combing through my hair and picking out little coconut pieces. I still haven’t decided if this is a deal breaker for me or not. The other thing I was bothered by was that while Lush’s ingredients are mostly natural, there are still some harsh synthetic chemicals floating around in there. Granted there’s a lot more natural stuff than synthetic stuff so I’m not totally bothered by it but I am really striving towards a 100% natural routine. I think the pros out weigh the cons with this product so I will be sticking with it. For now anyway.

I also started using the Veganese Conditioner from Lush:

Lavender and lemon garden of goodness to gently detangle and add shine. Completely vegan, Veganese conditioner softens your hair with an agar seaweed infusion, a lovely natural ingredient used in jelly desserts in Indonesia. While certainly gentle enough for fine hair, this conditioner can soften and add shine to most any tress nest. With lemons, lavender, and rosemary, Veganese is perfect for regular use to keep your hair in shape. 

I really like this conditioner. It smells terrific and my hair feels incredibly soft once I wash it out. It also softens up my hair enough to allow some of the coconut bits to fall out on their own! Another plus is that it is completely vegan. I guess my only con with this would be the synthetic ingredients issue. But again I really enjoy this conditioner and will definitely continue to use it. 

N-

One response to “Lush Product Review – Curly Wurly & Veganese

  1. Coconut bits are a no go for me, but I may try that conditioner.

Leave a Reply

